tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

search google, wikipedia, reverso from the bash terminal

leave a comment »

 

searching in bash

searching in bash

 

Okay, so, I like to use my bash terminal. Call me a geek all you like; it matters not to me. I wear that badge with pride.

The bash terminal is quick and efficient for doing a lot of stuff that one might otherwise use some bloated, cpu sucking, eye-candied, gui monstrosity to do. So, when I find ways to use it for more stuff, more stuff I do with it.

Now, for my work (recall, I am professionally a translator) I must often do research, some of which entails heavy lifting, and, otherwise, often simply searching for word definitions and translations. I use TclDict, which I wrote, frequently, but, I also use a lot of online resources that I never programmed TclDict to access, and would generally use a browser for that stuff. Unless, of course, I can do it my terminal!

For precisely such purposes, here are a couple of handy scripts I use while working.

First, let’s look up terms at Dict.org:

#!/bin/bash

if [[ $(echo $*) ]]; then

searchterm="$*"
else

read -p "Enter your search term: " searchterm
fi
read -p "choose database (enter \'list\' to list all): " db

if [ $db = list ] ; then
curl dict://dict.org/show:db

read -p "choose database, again: " db
fi

curl dict://dict.org/d:$searchterm:$db | less

 

 

Now, let’s search google from the command line:

#!/bin/bash
if [[ $(echo $*) ]]; then
searchterm="$*"
else
read -p "Enter your search term: " searchterm
fi
lynx -accept_all_cookies http://www.google.com/search?q=$searchterm
# I accept all cookies to go direct to search results without having to approve each cookie.
# you can disable that, of course.

 

I saved that in ~/bin/goose # for GOOgle SEarch
and just do
goose $searchterm

Or, search the google dictionary to translate a term:

#!/bin/bash
echo -e "Search google dictionary.\n"
read -p "Source language (two letters): " slang
read -p "Target language (two letters): " tlang
read -p "Search term: " sterm
lynx -dump "http://www.google.com/dictionary?langpair=$slang|$tlang&q=$sterm" | less

Note: For a monolingual search, just use the same language for source and target. Don’t leave either blank.

Or:

#!/bin/bash
if [ ! $1 ];
then
echo -e "usage requires 3 parameters: source language, target language, search term. \n
Thus, I have this as ~/bin/googdict, and do \n
googdict en es cows \n
to translate "cows" to Spanish. \n
For monolingual search, enter the language twice. \n
As indicated, use the two letter code: \n
\"en\" for English, \"fr\" for French, etc."
exit
fi

lynx -dump "http://www.google.com/dictionary?langpair=$1|$2&q=$3" | less

For the above, I have it in ~/bin/gd, usage being simply “gd $sourcelanguage $targetlanguage $searchterm”.
Example:
me@machine:~$ gd en es cow
Searches the Englist to Spanish dictionary for “cow”.

We can use similar principles to search reverso:

#!/bin/bash
#search reverso
read -p "Enter the source language: " slang
read -p "Enter target language: " tlang
read -p "Enter your search term: " searchterm
lynx -dump dictionary.reverso.net/$slang-$tlang/$searchterm | less

With the google dictionary, you use the two-letter language code (i.e., “en” for English, “fr” for French, etc.). With reverso, you have to spell out the language (“english” for English, etc.).

With all of the above, I’ve used the program, less, to display the results, rather than spitting it all out to to the terminal at once. Click here to learn how to use less, if needed.

Additionally, most of the above require Lynx Browser, which is generally available for any gnu/linux distribution via your favorite package manager (apt, synaptic, aptitude, yum, portage, pacman, etc.). For the dict.org script, I used cURL (also part of most gnu/linux distributions and installable with your favorite package manager).

Google Translate can also be accessed, but for this, we’ll use a bit of python magic (I know, I pick on google translate, a lot, but it can be useful):

#!/usr/bin/env python
from urllib2 import urlopen
from urllib import urlencode
import sys

# The google translate API can be found here:
# http://code.google.com/apis/ajaxlanguage/documentation/#Examples

 

lang1=sys.argv[1]
lang2=sys.argv[2]
langpair='%s|%s'%(lang1,lang2)
text=' '.join(sys.argv[3:])
base_url='http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/services/language/translate?'
params=urlencode( (('v',1.0),
('q',text),
('langpair',langpair),) )
url=base_url+params
content=urlopen(url).read()
start_idx=content.find('"translatedText":"')+18
translation=content[start_idx:]
end_idx=translation.find('"}, "')
translation=translation[:end_idx]
print translation

Originally found that here, on the ubuntuforums.

And now for Wikipedia we have a couple of options.
First, we have this awesome little handy script, tucked into my $PATH as “define”:

#!/bin/bash
dig +short txt $1.wp.dg.cx
exit

I use it simply with “define $searchterm”, and it gives a short definition from wikipedia.  I originally found it here.

Another extremely handy tool is Wikipedia2Text, which I simply installed from the debian repos via aptitude. When I use this, I also pipe it to less:
#!/bin/bash

if [[ $(echo $*) ]]; then

searchterm="$*"
else

read -p "Enter your search term: " searchterm
fi

 

wikipedia2text $searchterm | less

I have that tucked into ~/bin/wikit, thus, do simply wikit $searchterm to get my results.

Enjoy!

All code here that I have written is free and released according to the GPL v. 3. Check the links for code I borrowed for licensing information (pretty sure it’s all GPL-ed, too).

./tony

Written by tonybaldwin

May 3, 2011 at 12:52 am

Leave a Reply

