tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

Start a business in language translation within 24 HOURS: Own a Business Today and be Successful with No Prior Experience!

with 7 comments

I can’t believe this…

On sale at Amazon.com: Start a business in language translation within 24 HOURS: Own a Business Today and be Successful with No Prior Experience!, this book purportedly can teach you how to start a translation agency business from home, in 24 hours, and make up to $1000 profit from outsourcing a single document.
The book blurb states:

As a translation broker you have the ability to build a lasting business doing something that’s easy and requires no experience. As a translation broker you can earn $1,000 just for having one document translate. With this book you will learn how to start a business in just 24 hours!

If anyone has actually read this garbage, please, let me know just how bad it is.

My own opinion, without having actually read the book, is that is MUST be a complete scam.
I especially love that “easy and requires no experience” part…

Now, I’m fairly successful as a freelance translation, and running a small agency from my home office, but, I never make $1000 profit from outsourcing a single document, and I sure as heck didn’t set up my business in 24 hours.
It took a whole year before I was making enough money to give up several part time jobs I was working while getting my business started. There’s a lot more to being a freelance translator than can be learned in one paperback book, primarily. Working as a freelance translator requires a great many skills, including, but not limited to:

  • HIGH LEVEL language skills in two or more languages
  • marketing skills
  • research skills
  • technology skills
  • diplomatic and customer services skills
  • business administration, back office, and accounting skills
  • website administration skills (for marketing, etc.)
  • y MUCHO MÁS

I don’t believe, not for a second, that one little paperback book is going to impart all of that knowledge. Translators go to school for years to train and educate themselves, and many are still not successful.

Now, starting and running a translation agency is far more complex, still. After all, you still need the marketing, technology, diplomatic and customer service skills, plus project management, business administration, and other skills, and, you put your name on a product the quality of which, sometimes, you can’t even verify, since it can be in a language that you can’t read.

The whole premise of this book is completely preposterous.
Additionally, the author advocates unethical business practices. She’s quoted as stating, “There’s no investment. Never pay the translator until you get paid.
(I pay providers, whether the client pays or not, and often well before they do. Not paying the provider is unacceptable.)

./tony

Written by tonybaldwin

February 28, 2010 at 1:43 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Also:
    "There are no obligations. Work online and don't pay taxes."

    And better yet:
    "Don't hire any translator. Convice the client to pay you half in advance and never deliver. $500 profit guaranteed!!"

    LOL

    How come I never thought of this? =P What a scam…

    Claudia

    February 28, 2010 at 9:36 am

    • Gosh, I missed that "don't pay taxes" part…
      I wonder if the IRS will give me back the money I've been paying for the past 5 years…

      tonybaldwin

      February 28, 2010 at 10:13 am

  2. I agree with Tony so much. Starting a translation/interpertation business is hard, take many efforts, and require many different set of skills. It is not easy at all as it looks like to anyone. I don't think I would even to open that book and get angry with.

    rose

    February 28, 2010 at 10:43 am

  3. Hi Tony
    I feel like getting some fellow translators to go and throw some BIG stones at this lady's windows.
    What a bitch…

    Dayse Batista

    February 28, 2010 at 11:40 am

  4. The hefty tome counts 44 (forty-four) pages, for a good 0.1 inches thickness.
    The same author, Dana Forsythe, also publishes another seminal work about becoming rich selling goods on Amazon. Unmissable masterpieces!

    F.Pisa

    Francisco Pisa

    February 28, 2010 at 12:42 pm

  5. HA! Dayse…nunca vi você usar linguagem tão forte….
    Eu iria com você pra lançar pedras!
    Essa makenga louca ta precisando aprender uma lição, com certeza…
    vender livros dizendo como abusar e tomar vontades de nós fosse aceitavel, NÃO DA.

    A friend/colleague here in the US has ordered the book and is going to leave a review on amazon.
    I wrote a review, without reading the book, but I don't think they'll publish my review…
    It was definitely not kind, but I also confessed therein that I had never read the book, and didn't plan to read it, and that, without even cracking it open, I knew it was a scam, because, indeed, I AM a successful freelance translator and "translation broker".

    tonybaldwin

    February 28, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  6. Hi Tony,
    Your review is posted. Under the review they always have a "Was this review helpful to you?" We should all go to amazon and hit the agree button! I certainly agree with it.
    I also found that the "publisher" CreateSpace is a Self-publish and distribution tool. "Our free online publishing tools and Community can help you complete and sell your work. Distribute on Amazon.com, your own website, and other retailers without setup fees or inventory." So if anyone of you has a secret book in a desk drawer this is the way to get sold on amazon.

    Hildegard

    March 1, 2010 at 12:34 am


Leave a Reply

