tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

Staples monitor…WTF?!

leave a comment »

I went to Staples (first mistake) to buy a monitor.
I was looking at a Samsung 20 inch lcd (I have been using a 15 inch monitor for a while). But, I let the Staples guy talk me into purchasing a Staples brand monitor, which is 22 inches (2 more!), has built-in speakers, a swivel base, and cost the same amount.

So, I’m looking at it right now.
And, it would be a lot easier on the eyes…it’s bigger…colors look great…but,
I’m having one serious issue…
It’s supposed native max resolution is 1680×1050 (a ratio of 8/5), but, when I try that resolution, or any other lower resolution with the same ratio, I get a bubble floating around the screen that says “INPUT NOT SUPPORT” [sic]. So, I’m looking at it at 1280×1024 (a ratio of 6.25/5).
S0, everything is stretched out vertically.
I’ve tried 1280×800, which would be the same ratio, and I get that same floating “INPUT NOT SUPPORT” [sic] message.
I don’t know if I should take it back and try to get the Samsung, or what.
It wouldn’t make much of a difference for the translation work I do, because, in truth, it is bigger, and
would allow me to work more comfortably, but, photos and graphics all look screwy, etc.
I make graphics for the websites I run, and, I’m a photographer, so, that just won’t do.
Not acceptable.

Here’s one of the advantages of the new monitor…

Documents opened, fullpage, layed out side by side

Documents opened, fullpage, layed out side by side. Much better visibility.
Note that the document on the left is a pdf file, viewed with Evince, while the other is an .odt file, viewed in OpenOffice.org.
(Yes, they are, in fact, both the same resume of the same handsome fellow…)

Now, this is how I used to have to work if I was translating materials that came as a pdf.
documents laid out one over the other,

with the documents laid out one over the other, with a small viewing area in each document.

Anyone can see the advantage there…except that everything is s-t-r-e-t-c–h-e-d out due to this resolution issue.

Now, the question I have is, can you see how the screen appears stretched horizontally?
Or is it just me?
I mean, not just that there is more room from side to side, but, everything looks squished down and stretched sidewise,
like in a funhouse mirror that makes you look like a fat midget…Which I find weird, since, the issue is that the resolution I’m using has to great a height, at 1024 (which would imply vertical stretching) to match the width, 1280, while 1280×800 would have the same ratio as 1680×1050.
And, you know how most monitors allow one to adjust not only vertical and horizontal position, but also the height and width on the screen? This one doesn’t…Vert/horiz positioning, yes, but, not the stretching/length/height of these parameters.

I don’t know if I need to return this monitor to Staples (and go for the Samsung), or, perhaps, get a new video card. I have a Radeon 9500 to X10500, or something or other ATI card, onboard the mobo, so, perhaps the issue is that my cheap video card (painfully slow with GLscreensavers, practically non-existent 3d support, etc.) just sucks, and not the monitor…
I dunno…


UPDATE:
I viewed the above screenshots in my laptop, and everything looks normally proportioned…
So, it is the monitor, for sure…and, even the screenshots look normal, on another machine, so…
Here’s what I see:

me... me, s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d
me…for comparison… me, s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d…this is what it looks like here…

Written by tonybaldwin

September 10, 2008 at 9:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

