tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

Press "ctrl-alt-z" for zombie scan… (musings on keybindings…)

leave a comment »

The thing with keybindings, is, there are only so many keys and modifiers on the keyboard.
Now, there are some bindings that are already part of X, or something, like mod1-f5, and stuff…
And, a number of programs already have certain bindings, such as ctrl-d for bookmarking (what does D have to do with bookmarks?).
I had made ctrl-d bring up my dictionary, but then realized that I had overrided this shortcut for Firefox and other browsers…so I changed the dictionary to mod1-d.
Some are pretty universal, like ctrl-p to print, ctrl-s save, ctrl-x cut, ctrl-v paste, ctrl-o open…
I don’t like the ctrl-q for quit…I prefer simply “esc”, which I have bound in all of my tcl programs to “exit”.

Fluxbox defaults already prove mod1-F(n) to go to workspace $n.
Mod1-tab tabs from one open window to another in one workspace.
I use those a lot.
There are others for opening menus and stuff, but, I don’t use those much.

Now, in tickle text, I programmed in a lot of bindings, including use of most of the F-keys.
So, a guy runs out of plausible or memorable options, after a while.
I have programmed some into fluxbox that I use all the time:
mod1-b = browser (firefox)
ctrl-e = e-mail (thunderbird)
mod1-c = command (fbrun, “run program” dialog)
mo1-t = terminal (sakura, in this case)
mod1-1 = xterm
mod1-2 = tickletext (was using ctrl-w (for write) until I realized that ctrl-w is to close a window in nearly any browser, including the gui filemanager I sometimes use, thunar).
mod1-f = file manager (thunar). I had made that one ctrl-h, but that is to go “home” in most browsers.
ctrl-m = medit, another editor I sometimes use
mod1-m = music (xmms)
mod1-z = brings up a little tcl dialog with certain characters that, for some reason, I can’t get from my US-Intl keyboard using fluxbox (¡ ¿ æ © ® ß Þ §, and others), for cut/paste usage (as I just did here). I should make ctrl-mod1-z bring up the zombie scan…
mod1-x = xlock (locks the screen…I use slock on the laptop).
ctrl-esp = brings up gps, a little gui system monitor…easier than searching for a pid with top and doing kill from the command line, if you need to kill something…not that I do that much…
Printscreen (111) = brings up a little script (import -window root tmpshot.jpg; gthumb tmpshot.jpg) to take a screenshot (and preview the shot in gthumb). (I considered making it bring up TclScreen, but, I just wanted it to give me an instant shot…TclScreen requires more interaction, and has other purpooses). I used to have it to” mtpaint -s”, but I uninstalled mtpaint.

You have to be careful setting keybindings, though, because you don’t want to interfere with native bindings in your applications.
Thanks the gods I don’t use emacs (bold for bloat), eh?

So, anyway, what is “F22”?
Are there really keyboards with 22 “F” keys?
I only have 12…
22 would be useful.
With 12 F-keys, mod1, ctrl, and shift, that gives me 36 possibilities…
But, with 22 “F” keys, I would have 66!

Crikey…can you tell I’m bored out of my skull with this current translation project (Canadian patent)?
Okay, back to work…

Written by tonybaldwin

September 8, 2008 at 2:39 pm

Posted in info technology

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

