tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

thoughts on gmail…

leave a comment »

Okay, I’ve been using a gmail account for a short while, now, and other google services, which I am enjoying.
I have to say, however, that I still prefer the ability to filter my incoming messages in to folders, not simply “label” them.
The labels are more like “tags” in thunderbird, really.
I mean, that is useful, I suppose, but, I like folders.

Now, I have a question about the relationship between gmail and my mail servers.
I mean, I have the gmail pickup my mail from the baldwinlinguas.com and linguasos.org servers.
So, my question is, if I tell Thunderbird to delete message when I download them, will they still
appear in the gmail account?
The issue is really, how often gmail queries the server, I suppose.
Because, I’m guessing, if I download a message with tbird, and it is deleted from the server before gmail queries the server,
gmail won’t get the message.
At the same time, gmail seems to be picking up my messages faster than tbird, in that, I can sit here with tbird open, and gmail open in FF, and watch a message hit the gmail box before it hits tbird.
Now, that’s probably a function of how often I have tbird checking for messages (every 10 minutes).
I’m just sure that, if I tell tbird to delete messages as soon as they are downloaded, there’s the possiblity of some messages not making it to the gmail box, which, I would rather avoid.
At the same time, I don’t want stuff to sit around forever on my mail server, clogging up my server storage space, and for other reasons…
and I do want access from both tbird, on my main box, and gmail while away, without losing any messages.
Now, I could tell gmail to delete messages from the server, but, then I wouldn’t get them in tbird.
Then again, I could tell FF to use gmail as my default mail client, and make other adjustments, use only the google calendar, instead of lightning in tbird, and simplify by having only gmail to deal with.
But, I don’t want to do that, for various reasons.
While gmail does give one a lot of room, I can archive a whole lot more mail at home, considering my 500gb backup drive.
So, I prefer to use gmail to check messages, but not to archive and save everything.
I suppose I’m babbling now…and my brain is jello, because i was up until 5am hacking, and got up again early, and, well, there’s just this fog, now…
So, I’ll stop…

Written by tonybaldwin

August 22, 2008 at 6:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

