tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

Quantos mensagens? (more musings on laptop/main box synching issues)

leave a comment »

One draw back to my current configuration of the laptop/home box scenario is that I have now told thunderbird not to delete mails from the server for one day (unless I delete them), so that I can also pick them up with Seamonkey mail on the laptop, if I determine they may be useful to me while I’m out (or even if I forget to close tbird, and leave the house with the laptop).
In similar fashion, I have told Seamonkey mail not to delete mails from the server for a whole week (even IF I delete them),
so that, say I go to my brother’s place in Boston for a couple of days (or even a week), the mails will still be on the server and I will be able to load them to the home box. I keep all important work, financial, etc., e-mails archived on the main box.
As result, the mail checking thing in Gkrellm now tells me I have hundreds of mails on the server waiting to be downloaded…
like 175 new mail messages, even though I’ve probably seen 100 of them, or something, because I’ve left them on the server.

I suppose, considering that I can ssh in with Xsession forwarding, I could just use Tbird to check the mail even from the laptop, or something.
I do, if I need to check my calendar, ssh in and start Tbird (since I have the Lightning calendar extension as my default calendar app, and have no calendar app on the laptop).

I don’t know.
I could just handle all mail online, including using a Yahoo! or Google calendar, but that has it’s drawbacks.
I don’t want the hosted server to get full of e-mails, and, for work purposes, I really do hold on to mails forever (and back them up to my external hdd, even).
And manipulating my calendar is a lot easier with Lightning, and it sends reminders right to my desktop, not just to my e-mail.

Likely there is a simple solution to synching mail and calendar on two machines, but, since this is all new to me, I don’t know what it is. Of course, I would not want it to take up lotso hdd space.

I did just order a 20gb hdd for the laptop, to which I will more or less copy over the current 6gb hdd, sort of.
PCLinuxOS, on which LinguasOS is based, has a great mklivecd thingy, with which I can make an ISO of my current system, so,
when the new hdd arrives, I will make a dvd of the current hdd, then install the new hdd, and install the DVD iso onto said new hdd. then I’ll have a little more room.
I still don’t plan on keeping a lot of files (like photos, music, etc.) on the laptop, but want more room than the current 6gb hdd, since I only have c. 2.7gb free, and that can be whittled down quickly with temp files and cookies, and the few documents that may stick around on there for work purposes, or whatever…a little room for possibly another app or two, I dunno…

I mean, since I can ssh in and sshfs mount the home box, I can move files back/forth between the two easily, and even use the apps on the main box, like, for instance, say I’m out with the laptop and want/need to manipulate an image.
I have not installed the GIMP on the laptop, but, I could mount the home box, copy the image to said box, then use the GIMP on the main box to edit the image, then copy it back…or something.
Know what I mean?
Kind of like, I can use the laptop as a thinclient with the home box as the app and file server.
Of course, since that can be slow, and I don’t know what the security ramifications are (although my home router is secured with WPA and my home box should, afaik, be about watertight), I prefer to keep such actions to a minimum, and, to date, have only mounted the home box to the laptop in the house, or, if out, very briefly, to grab a file quickly, etc.
I don’t know what might be the ramifications of keeping an open ssh connection while working for a while at Starbuck (or, really, the Publick Cup or something).
I don’t know how secure their network is, and have my doubt, although, I understand that ssh is quite a secure method of going about the business at hand.
I originally though of doing stuff like mounting the home box to be able to listen to the tunes while out, and stuff, but, in the end, opted to burn a few DVDs with tonso my favorite tunes, which I keep in the laptop bag, and can slap into the laptop and mount and listen to.

I don’t know…Likely you folks are getting tired of listening to me ramble on about this old/new laptop deal.
I know that about most of you already have all kinds of experience with wandering about with your shiny,spanking Dell Latitudes and sparkly Sony Vaios and nifty Macbooks, and have been on the wifi wagon for years now, but, it’s all new to me.
My brother would say,”Welcome, finally, to the 21st century, dude.”
(He said something similar when in 2000 I finally purchased a computer…”Great, Tony, it’s now the 21st century, and you’re just joining the 20th…congratulations…”)
It’s been a learning experience so far.
I dig learning stuff.

Written by tonybaldwin

August 12, 2008 at 8:08 pm

Posted in info technology

Leave a Reply

