tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

Gourmet Heaven

leave a comment »

I’m posting with my new/old ibm notebook, from Gourmet Heaven on Elm St. downtown NH, on the fringe of the Yale Campus, listening to Maná on my headphones.
This is pretty cool…
I’m mobile, connected…I have a lot more freedom, now.
I will not have to be a prisoner in my office…and all for the low, low price of $160 for this ancient laptop, another $20 for the PCMIA wireless network card…
Of course, all the software is free.

Early today I was trying to figure out how I could escape from the office like this and still have access to my files at home.
I did figure out, as far as I can tell, that the best thing to do is simply use FTP via an ssh connection (because fpt on it’s own is wide open and not secure, or something).
Which I should be able to do with gftp, as far as accessing the home machine from this laptop.
However, I haven’t the slightest idea how to get to the home machine.
If I try to ssh to my router’s IP, I get denied every time.
I don’t know how to tell the friggin’ router to let me ssh through.
I do have sshd running on the home box, but, don’t know how to reach it through the router.
Another problem, of course, is that, with comcast, I have a dynamic IP at home.
I don’t know how often it changes, or how to figure out what it is remotely when it does.
Of course, that’s a moot point if I don’t know how to get through the router to the big mama Baldwin Linguas office mofo machine.

I read a bunch of stuff, tutorials, etc., but, I’m just not making sense out of it.
I haven’t figured out how to tell the router to let me through (either through it’s admin interface while at home, or remotely).
I’m not sure what the IP address of the office box is on the other side of the router, nor how I would find it even if I could
get the router to let me in….

If my main machine had a direct connection, without a router, and with a static IP, it would be easy to ssh in.
ssh -l username
password

But, then, how do I ftp stuff if I’m ssh-ing through a terminal?
And, if I just hand gftp the router’s ip, that get’s me no where.

I dunno…some areas I know lotso stuff, other I don’t know diddley.

I don’t know diddley about networking or databases.
Nada. Zippo. Zilch.
I’m lost…
But, hey…I’m not a prisoner in my office!

Later…still at Gourmet Heaven.
Looks like we’re going to get nail with big t-storms any second…
Of course, It’s looked like that for a while, so, I’ve been wasting time here.
I already ate food, and stuff…I wonder how long they tolerate you hanging out without buying more stuff?
I don’t want to walk home in a t-storm, in a white t-shirt and shorts, and with this laptop in a canvas bag…
I want a cigarette.
At home, in my office, I can chain smoke all I want.
No cafe downtown here allows smoking, so, I have to either pack up the whole kit-n-kaboodle to go outside and smoke, or trust that nobody is going to abscond with my precioussssss.
And why wouldn’t they?
All these Yalies Ricos, with their Macbooks, and shiny spanking Dells with Vista…
My machine is clearly superior.
I mean, after all, mine has Linux on it!

Actually, they might just as well let me hang out.
There are two other people here…both attractive female students.
One is reading a novel, the other is fiddling around on an iBook.
I used to have one of those, iBook, I mean…although, yeah, I had young attractive female student…friends…you know, back in the stone ages when I was a student.
Now I’m just the creEpy old guy in the corner with the ancient Linux laptop, occasionally blurting out the words to a Maná song in Spanish…

Written by tonybaldwin

August 7, 2008 at 3:35 pm

Posted in info technology

Leave a Reply

