tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

surprise..I'm an English Genius…

leave a comment »

I think they meant to say “Evil Genius”, since, although I have British blood, I am, after all, American…
Nonetheless…

Your result for The Commonly Confused Words Test…

English Genius

You did so extremely well, even I can’t find a word to describe your excellence! You have the uncommon intelligence necessary to understand things that most people don’t. You have an extensive vocabulary, and you’re not afraid to use it properly! Way to go!

Thank you so much for taking my test. I hope you enjoyed it!

For the complete Answer Key, visit my blog: http://shortredhead78.blogspot.com/.

Take The Commonly Confused Words Test at HelloQuizzy

The problem is, most people don’t know the parts-of-speech.
This test focused on commonly mistaken phenomena such as:
1) Their (possessive), They’re (they are), and There (adverb);
2) Who (subject pronoun) and Whom (object pronoun);
3) Then (relates to time/sequence) and Than (comparisons);
4) Matters such as accept (to approve/agree, etc.) and except (all but);
5) Phenomena (plural) and phenomenon (singular);
6) etc.

I’m a linguist…I have to know my parts-of-speech (noun, verb, adjective, adverb, preposition, conjuction, article, pronoun) in 4 languages, and was formerly an English teacher…
I’d have to flog myself if I didn’t acheive this score…

I think they should have included something like the following:

Which of these is correct:
a) There’s hamburgers on the grill.
b) There are hamburgers on the grill.
c) Theirs hamburgers on the grill.
d) None of the above

or something similar.
Of course, the answer is “b) There ARE hamburgers on the grill.”

Too many people say “Theres burgers on the grill”, etc., and it annoys the h311 out of me.
The subject of the sentence is “hamburgers”, which is plural, and the verb is “to be” which, in the plural, needs to be “are”.
We don’t say, “Hamburgers is my favorite”. We say, “Hamburgers ARE my favorite.”
“There” is simply an adverb, indicating placement or location.
We could say the same exact thing thus: Hamburgers are there on the grill.
To reconstruct the sentence:

Hamburgers / are / there / on / the / grill.
Subject-noun / verb / adverb / preposition / article / object of preposition-noun.

Okay, that’s been the English lesson for today.
Thank you.
Class dismissed….

Written by tonybaldwin

June 27, 2008 at 6:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

