tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

TransProCalc 0.8

leave a comment »

TransProCalc 0.8

New release of TransProCalc, free translation project management software…

I had not intended to release at this juncture, but, a user wrote to me and pointed out a minor error in my intall.sh script (was cd-ing to /usr/loca/bin instead of /usr/local/bin to chmod to a+x for all the scripts…doh).
So, I fixed the install.sh, but also released the new tabbed/notebook arrangement.
The code has been cleaned up a bit, and has better commenting, too, if for no other reason than to make it easier for myself to find stuff while hacking away at it.

I’ve been working on writing in the math to round the figures, as per ‘s suggestion, but, have not completed that, so rounding is not part of the new release.

I’m hoping to have that done by the end of this month, and will be releasing again.
I’m also going to add a fourth report, a report that includes information from all three windows.
As it is, I usually make on by copy/pasting parts of the three existing reports together, so, I figure
it would be useful to others, too, to have this one report.
I’m also thinking about adding an invoice generator, although, I imagine that most folks
already have their own method for generating invoices.
I could even add export of the invoice to pdf format.
What do you think of that idea?
I would like to write in some user configuration…you know, saving the user’s pertinent information for the purposes
of generating said invoices, and, also, the ability to save information for clients, and, thus, a fourth tab in the notebook for
a client info input dialog, where one can enter, then save information for each client, such as address info, etc.,
to sort of build a client database for transprocalc.

My intention was to work on some of these items this week, in fact, and not to post a new release until these
items were completed, but, since the install script needed attention, I figured I’d at least amend that little issue,
and, since the tabbed/notebook feature was already completed and in use here, I figured I’d release it as such.
So, there you have it: TransProCalc 0.8 is up.
Enjoy.
When I get these other features written in , I’ll be releasing 1.0

Anyone want to come on board and help code some of this stuff in?

Any ideas or feedback, too, are always welcome and appreciated.

Written by tonybaldwin

May 11, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Leave a Reply

