tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

sk8

leave a comment »

Went sk8-ing today.
First sk8 of the new season.
It was so cool to be outdoors on wheels.
Just went out for about an hour and a half, taking
a break from revision of a very, very bad translation.
I don’t like taking revision work, and today’s task
was a real reminder of why…
I swear…it was PT_BR to EN_US, and had been translated
AND supposedly already reviewed, once, but the reviewer
left notes all over the document, and due to this person’s confusion,
the agency sent it to me, in the hope that I would clear things up.

Seven hours later I sent back a document with about 40% of the text altered…

It was patently clear to me that neither the original translator, nor the reviewer,
were native English speakers.
Retarded agency probably sent the work to someone in a third world country claiming native
skill with English and charging sweatshop rates in order to save a buck or two.

After what I charged for 7 hours of revisions, they would have saved money by sending the
original work to me and paying my rate in the first place.

I found the coolest thing at Walgreens:
Wasabe/Soy Almonds.
Yummy.

I work too much.
It’s Saturday night (really Sunday morning) at 1am,
and I’ve just delivered a project to a client.

g’night

Written by tonybaldwin

April 6, 2008 at 1:11 am

Posted in personal

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

