tonybaldwin | blog

non compos mentis

Still tickling…

leave a comment »

Tickle Text Tickle Text

This is my latest stable build of tickletext, but I haven’t uploaded it to sourceforge or my site, yet.
I put most of the buttons into menus just to clean up the interface, although,
I’m not sure if I like this better, or not.

Tickled Tabs Tickled Tabs

I have tried to make tabs.
Well, no, I have succeeded in making tabs, BUT,
I’m having difficulties figuring out how to pass the current tab info to
stuff like printing and changing colors and open/save, find/replace, etc.
So, basically, I’ve been able to add as many tabs as I like, but am only able to manipulate one tab.
I mean, I can cut/paste/edit text in the others, but I can’t open a file, save a file, change the bg or font color, independently in all tabs.
There’s got to be a way to use a variable to indicate the currently open tab, but, I haven’t quite figured it out yet.

I’m having one other minor issue.
I have embedded the xterm, as you can see, but, now I am noticing that quitting tickletext doesn’t kill
the xterm.
I end up having the kill the xterm process by hand.
I wonder if I need to use something like
proc quit {} {
kill xterm
exit
}
Or something to get it to kill the xterm.

I’d like to figure out how to give the user control over the xterm colors, too.
At this point, I have them preconfigured within the script that embeds the terminal in the window.
I’d also like to free xterm from being this specific size, so it will expand with the tickletext window.
Of course, I also still want to add line numbers.
I can’t find for the life of me any documentation anywhere on how this is done.
I have several editors written in tcl on my system, and haven’t been able to determine how
they’re doing it, either.
I do know it can be done, of course.
I’ll figure it out.
If I get the line numbers and tabs worked out, I’ll be ecstatic.

(groOvy penguinlove icon courtesy Roberta Sulls/

)

Written by tonybaldwin

March 16, 2008 at 10:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

